Adventures in Unschooling

Welcome to the fun and games

Posted on: January 20, 2009

Welcome to my unschooling blog. My kids aren’t school aged per se but when it comes to educating your offspring there is no time like the present.

I have found that being able to be responsible for something so important has really helped me feel more valuable at home. Before they were old enough to do these activities I felt like I existed for one purpose alone. To serve my kids. Now I feel like I am doing so much more for them.

We are an attachment parenting family. We’ve co-slept with our babies. We wear the smallest in the sling. We spend lots of time playing with them. We involve them in helping us to buy produce. We paint, draw, splash and go on nature walks. We learn together and are learning mutual respect for each other.

And most importantly, we don’t see our children as something that needs to be molded and shaped but rather something that we must nourish to help grow strong and bright. So rather than a pot that is manipulated by the creator to be what we want it to be we see our kids as flowers or trees. They should grown nice and strong just as they ought too with the proper food and conditions.

Yesterday we had a lazy day since we are all down with a nasty cold but last night we did groceries. The boys helped me pick out the best produce.

This is going to be a wonderful adventure and I am so glad that I can start to share it with you. I love unschooling blogs that give me inspiration for activities we can all do together.

2 Responses to "Welcome to the fun and games"

A picture really is worth a thousand words when it comes to describing what you did with the frame.

Congratulations on the new blog and I look forward to reading more!

Yay! A new blog! Good luck on your un-schooloing adventure!

Leave a Reply

