Adventures in Unschooling

Three kids, two buses and a bag full of books.

Posted on: January 21, 2009

We are still all sick from that blasted cold we caught about a week ago but I needed some fresh air and it looked nice outside so I thought, “why not go out?” So I put the baby in the sling and dressed up the boys and we headed to the library.

 We found some good books.

There’s Horton Hears a Who. They have really enjoyed the movie and I thought they should see the book. From Dr. Seuss I also took home The Lorax and The Butter Battle Book.

There is also one called Not in a Box  about a lil’ bunny who uses his imagination to have fun with a box. I also found a pirate book and one about explorer Christopher Columbus. They are all about the pirates right now. And I figured explorers were close enough for their purposes.

The last one is called Canada in Colour. It’s about the defining landmarks of Canada. Like the blue St. Lawrence river etc.

 dsc03921

I also found a book for myself. It’s hard to even have the opportunity to look when the kids are with me, but I did find one at least.

It’s called The End of Education. I think the point of the book is to outline how schools have lost their effectiveness/purpose. I’ll keep you posted on what I find.

1 Response to "Three kids, two buses and a bag full of books."

Way to go with acting on your new years resolution so quickly and not letting the lack of a hat get in the way. I really like this new road you’re taking – sharing daily snapshots of your lives and unschooling.

Leave a Reply

