Adventures in Unschooling

Bird feeder!

Posted on: January 27, 2009

We are all still under the weather but I don’t want to make that an excuse to not do anything. So this morning we read books, which was really hard with my hoarse voice but the boys actually asked and I certainly didn’t want to discourage that! I used a couple early reader books and asked Trey to read along with me. A start I think.

Then I was on the Crafty Crow website ( http://belladia.typepad.com/crafty_crow/ ) and found some inspiration. So today we made a bird feeder with peanut butter and hamster seeds.

Let’s hope the birds find it soon.

dsc03941

This was an opportunity to talk to Trey about birds. What they eat etc.

I was on someone’s blog today and I was looking at their childhood home. A tiny little thing in the woods. It made me remember how much we had wanted to build ourselves a little home completely powered by solar panels and heated by logs.

We co-sleep with our youngest and I would love to push two queens together and ALL sleep in the same room under a pile of blankets. Sigh…dreams.

I doubt we’ll ever get to build our dream home since my husband is trying to switch careers right now and when he does he’ll have to move every seven years or so. Bummer. But there’s no reason we can’t buy a small home. I just wanted to build so we could make it very well insulated and from eco-friendly woods and paints etc.

3 Responses to "Bird feeder!"

I haven’t made a bird feeder with the kids for years now but you’ve inspired me to do it this afternoon. We always have peanut butter and hamster food on hand!

I found your blog via your post on the Yahoo homeschool board. We are a sometimes homeschooling, sometimes unschooling family with five kids, in process of adopting two more. Our kids have always been at home and we love it!

What did you use for the base? I see they used bread on that link you provided but yours looks different. You certainly picked a nice day to go outside to hang the feeder up. I hope you get lots of visitors and had fun making the feeder!

And I so get you on the house thing except it’s me that keeps making us move!

Well I didn’t think of pinecones (duh!) at the time. I started looking around my house. I don’t know if this was wise (and I probably won’t do it like this next time) but I used cardboard. Then Iwrapped string around it to have a place for the peanut butter to anchor to. Then I rubbed the thing in hamster food. It caught a lot of big seeds which will probably draw the birds I don’t want but it’s all I had.

Leave a Reply

