Adventures in Unschooling

Book review.

Posted on: January 28, 2009

I checked out The Unschooling Handbook from the library the other day. I found it interesting and wrapped it up in three days.

unschooling-handbookIt may have been too elementary for a seasoned unschooler but I still have much to learn and found the information therein comforting and inspiring.

I also love reading the excerpts from the parents of unschooled kids and even more so the excerpts from the kids. There was a real sense of self-awareness in these kids. They realize that they don’t fit in with the schooled kids but they don’t care too much. They know that they are doing something real and special. I think it is also a testimony of how independence and confidence can be built by letting kids learn and succeed and fail.

I also liked the list of references at the end of each chapter. I have taken note of the websites recommended and will be signing up for some of the newsletters soon.

I also took out another book:

500-ideas

The Ultimate Book of  Homeschooling ideas. I am not done looking at it. I am finding it interesting thus far and if the ideas are worth keeping I intend on buying this book.

I have also been looking at second hand store for books/dress up clothes.

I found Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie. It’s the hardcover version with the old artwork (not the Disney crap) and large font.

I think that Trey may want to read it in a couple of years. I also found a couple more books for them.

I have also picked up some parenting books from the library. I am really trying to find a gentler way to discipline my kids. It’s so hard because they seem determined to thwart my every effort at being kind and reasonable.

Oh well…I’ll let you all know if I find something that seems like it’ll work.

1 Response to "Book review."

Thanks for the book reviews…I’ll have to add these to my reading list.

Love your blog too…will be back to visit often

Leave a Reply

