Adventures in Unschooling

New toys and Chapters finds.

Posted on: January 29, 2009

My husband has been making more and more of the kids toys these days. Last night he came home with these babies:

dsc03946The dark ones are made from Walnut and the lighter ones are hickory. He has access to scraps at the shop and so he can whip these up on his lunch and coffee break in no time.

I asked him to do this because the kids have a pile of cube blocks but they can’t seem to build anything but towers since the blocks are big enough to bridge across very well. This way they can build houses, roads, bridges, whatever.

 

dsc03709This was one of his Christmas projects for the kids’ stockings. It’s a lace up cheese. dsc03708I found a brown lace to replace the white one with and it sure stands out now.  And he made this teether for Anna. ->

My husband had an appointment last night and I didn’t want to spend another minute locked up in the house so I had him drop me off at the mall. I spent the evening browsing stores with my kids. I had to put Joel in a stroller to make this manageable. Anna was in the sling and Trey held the stroller.

We visited the Art Store and spent a small fortune on felt for making crowns etc., clay, clay tools, acrylic paint, oil pastels, Popsicle sticks and so on. 

I also found a few cute items for Anna on clearance at Baby Gap.

My last stop was Chapters. I am a book junky. Before I married I used to buy books for fun and not find the time to read most of them. Now I try to buy books only if I know that I will likely be using it as a reference guide later. If not I try to get it from the library. But I also know I need to start filling up my unschooling library for the kids. So I picked up a few jewels for that:

dsc03943I bet these will come handy in the next eighteen years. Especially the plants one. That one was the most expensive but it is fully illustrated and will be very well used once we go on our nature walks in the spring.

The knots book just looked like it would be fun for the boys. What boy doesn’t love tying knots?

1 Response to "New toys and Chapters finds."

Plant books? When you’re ready I have a lot of resources and ideas for what you can do since that was one of my favourite things with JFRs. I don’t know what your plant id skills are like but I’ll gladly help if you’re interested; I found it the best way for me to get started.

On the craft front, it’s been so satisfying for me to see how you and the Mr. have grown from wanting to make your own clothing to coming up with activities and toys for the kids. Mama and papa made are pretty darn hard to beat!

Leave a Reply

