Adventures in Unschooling

A day out.

Posted on: February 1, 2009

I wanted to head to the local science centre to see a special exhibit but my eldest wet his pants and we had to turn around and head back home. But before all that we managed to run a few errands.

My husband wanted to visit the new library so we went to go see it. Boy! Do they have a great kids’ section or what!?

It is filled with so much fun stuff that the kids aren’t even interested in the books. My boys have plenty of books at home so I didn’t mind if they used the library for a bit of fun and social interaction.

In fact, I learned something about Trey today. He definitely is the Alpha male. He was always the leader with his younger brother but when we were at the library Trey started playing with a boy at least two years older than him. Even in this match he still led the play.

Later on in the day we headed to a toys store. I picked up some Melissaand Doug educational toys for the kidlets. I picked up the clock and the abacus.

The clock works in three ways. One, to teach time (I hope you can see the special notes on the clock to help kids with things like “quarter to”). Two, to count and three as a shapes puzzle. Not only that but it is so darn cute!

dsc03989

2 Responses to "A day out."

I love the Melissa and Doug Clock. I probably won’t be purchasing it for awhile though. Looks like you had a great day!

We had a plastic version that was quite similar but there were gears in the middle which, if I remember correctly, meant that you always had an accurate display of the time. The idea was to get us to learn to tell time the “old fashioned way” before we could get digital watches. I learned, I forgot, and 15 years ago bought a watch “with hands” so I would be forced to remember. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

