Adventures in Unschooling

Busy day despite

Posted on: February 2, 2009

My cold is winding down but I am still feeling a little blah. This morning I woke up with a massive headache and sore neck. I think it has to do more with the fact that the hubby and I stayed up until midnight reading and then Anna, my two month old, had a restless night. She kept squirming towards me and then punching me to get me to feed her. Little turkey. We love sleeping with her though. She is so sweet and being close to us means we are never getting woken up by screaming…just little punches. LOL.

I had wanted to just veg all day but I have found that spending extra time with the boys reaps better behaviour and thus a much more tolerable day. So today we cuddled on the couch, read eight books, coloured, painted and played with modeling clay.

We also worked on time, shapes, colours and numbers using our Melissa and Doug clock. I must say that it’s not as healthy as I had thought. The label says that it is all wood but in reality it looks like it’s pretty much all MDF. 😦 Which, for those of you who aren’t wood savvy, is a “wood” made from what is essentially wood dust glued together. That’s why MDF crap swells in bubbles when wet. It also wears and so screws are always stripping and coming loose. It’s toxic enough that men have to wear masks when cutting it.

The boys also worked on their Perfection game (puzzle) and had lots of freeplay as pirates.

We also made a large bowl of popcorn and settled on the couch to watch a movie (quiet time).

I haven’t had much time to myself to close my eyes and relax but I am hoping that we can spend the next few hours in a more quiet state of play. Maybe I can get them to build with their blocks again.

Earlier Trey was  playing with his wood pirate dolldsc03712 I made him for Christmas. I am hoping to get to the lumber store and paint him up some more soon.

He was making a boat and a Star Wars spaceship for them. The crazy thing is that some of his Star Wars ships actually look like the ones from the movies.

I have also bought some better fine tipped brushes so my next batch of painting should look a lot better. I had some major problems with smooth paint application using my ratty old brush.

I painted him a whole set of people and they are getting lots of play. I can’t wait to make him another batch with more pirates and some ninjas!

Leave a Reply

