Adventures in Unschooling

Wowsers…

Posted on: February 5, 2009

People certainly have lots to share about their parenting styles. I just want to ensure that everyone knows that I am doing my best and that I haven’t finished with my kids yet. We are all learning and we will find what makes us all happy.

I have already tried to make my home a more positive home. I am alreadt reaping benefits from this. I am just making my transitions at the pace that I think is best for them. This is largely based on the new things I am learning everday.  In the last four days I have only had to have one time out (out of three kids) and that one was essential for MY sanity! This may not sound like much to you but it is a big step for us. Even that time out was only like two minutes. Just long enough for him to stop screaming so that I could actually talk to him.

I still have a mound of books to get through and I am open to suggestions and tips as I am still having problems with basic obedience (like not standing on top of the fire place or hitting each other) that my new parenting strategies aren’t working very well on now.  I have a hard time with the advice of so many saying don’t do this and that. That’s great but some us don’t what to do when told we are doing EVERYTHING wrong. What do you do if you can’t say, “Good job?” It takes time to re-learn all this stuff. And I don’t want to just follow anyone’s advice to the letter. I am, with time, further education and experience figuring out what works for us.

dsc04041

Onto happier things, we made vegan chocolate pudding cake today as well as vegan sushi!

We also went for a walk. It looked like it would be the nicest day in the next seven days so I thought we’d better take advantage of it.

We brought our camera but didn’t see much worth photographing except ourselves. Trey wanted to stop at the corner store and rent The Hulk so I let him do that.

1 Response to "Wowsers…"

Kudos for you M for speaking your mind. That whole part of what people see based on what we share on-line is tough. I’m not there in your everyday living but I see more than most of your readers and I realize how much you’ve grown in the time I’ve known you. I commend you for being interested and actively seeking the best ways to live and raise your children. You have lots of examples to look at to see just how well you ARE doing.

Hugs, SS

Leave a comment


  • None
  • withoutloveweallperish: 50 books for $10!! As a book lover, that sounds like Christmas come early! Lovely library set up, need to set up one of those for myself!
  • theworldismysoyster: Sure. Just none of my kids. :)
  • goobrobinson: Hi! I'd like to seek your permission if I can reuse one of your pictures for my next post? Specifically the second picture.

Categories