Adventures in Unschooling

Raw food, new books and a promotion.

Posted on: February 27, 2009

I wanted to start off by sharing that my husband was promoted at his Mixed Martial Arts class. He is now a yellow belt. Yes, it’s just one step up from a white but he has just started and it was exciting for him to move to the next level so quickly. He is one excited fella.

Then I started thinking about eating raw again. I have tried it before but I am much too attached to my baked goods and warm meals.

dsc04365I am going to try to go 50% raw (basically snacks and lunch) but we’ll see how it works out. For snack I made a “chocolate” dip (carob, maple syrup (I didn’t have any agave nectar in stock) and tahini) and apple slices. It’s better than you’d think.

I was supposed to go to an art drop-in tonight but I decided to go shopping instead. I needed some stuff from the health food store and I like to shop the book clearance sales.

dsc04366I found these little gems on sale at Chapters and Winners. We paid more than I like to pay for The Lorax but I think it has such a valueable lesson to learn about consumerism and greed and the importance of our natural resources. Many people don’t know much about Dr. Seuss (other than he wasn’t actually a Dr. of any kind) but Dr. Seuss (or Theodor Seuss Geisel) drew many political cartoons and wrote other kinds of commentaries and stories. The Dr. Seuss name only applied to the children’s stories that he illustrated himself.

When you watch The Grinchthe credits state that Theo Geisel wrote that “You’re a mean one Mr. Grinch” song. Interesting heh?

Twoo Twit looked like a cute story. But I have just finished reading it and I am not impressed. It’s about an owl that isn’t smart or wise and can’t read so he remedies that by going to school. ‘Cause school makes you smart. I am not sure what to do about that book. I don’t like to throw anything away. I guess I’ll give it to my sister-in-law who is a teacher. Thank goodness I didn’t pay too much for it. And finally, Mommy Hugs is a cute board book about a baby’s day to day routine. Complete with bedtime-hugs, I’ll-always-catch-you-hugs etc.

dsc04363Today I gave Trey this Harry Potter set of Lego that someone had given to us. He was so creative. It only took him about ten minutes before he had created this:

When we were shopping I also stopped at my favorite craft and hobby store and picked up more paint. Those boys of mine sure go through an awful lot of my acrylics painting masterpieces like this:

dsc04348Anyways, that’s all for now. Kevin wants me to go exercise with him.

Leave a Reply

