Adventures in Unschooling

Busy weekend.

Posted on: March 1, 2009

We had a busy, busy weekend. I hadn’t kept up to date with my cleaning so I had to clean my whole house on Saturday. I thought I would have all day to do this but we received a call from our realtor for a showing mid day. This made our cleaning schedule a lot more hurried. When they called again to cancel we were relieved and were able to finish the rest of the cleaning at our leisure.

This gave me time to read and play with watercolours in between dishes and dusting etc. Then I hosted a friend for supper and movies.

On Sunday we had a quiet morning until my husband decided to go TV shopping. He is thinking he wants a TV in the bedroom now. Ugh! It took a few hours of subtleties but he finally convinced himself that we don’t need another TV, especially one in the bedroom.

After all of that I wanted to go looking for a knife sharpener. I have a really nice set of Lagostina knives and they could use a good sharpening. We didn’t find any but I did find a ceramic frying pan (which is supposed to be much healthier than Teflon yet still non-stick) and a book on eco/green cleaning. I was very happy with my finds.

After that we took a couple hours to unwind at home then we headed to L’s house for supper and rock climbing.

dscn1900This is Trey and Joel figuring out the wall all by themselves. We were all surprised to see Trey just go at it out of the blue.

I was able to finish reading Hold on to Your Kids this week. Maybe it was because I was trying to hard to finish it since it was due back at the library (and I couldn’t renew it out since the next person had a hold on it) but I thought it was overly long winded. I think the basic premise of the book (that children need attachment and that if they dsc04130have a void in attachment they will attach to whomever is available and allow themselves to be moulded by them) could have been surmised in half that space. Maybe some people need multiple examples but I found myself speed reading through large sections of the book once I had grasped a concept and trying to move onto the next one.

Overall though I think that it is a valuable read. I have seen how children who aren’t attached to their parents tend to have no moral compass.

Now I think I am going to play with clay, read a bit and go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

