Adventures in Unschooling

Bad day!

Posted on: March 5, 2009

I think it’s the fact that my husband has been gone every evening this week and will be gone again tonight. I, on the other hand, haven’t been out of my house (without my kids) once. I shouldn’t get upset at him because we did talk about him being away for so many evenings and I told him I would manage. Besides, we’ve already paid for his classes.

But…I am starting to get really cranky and the boys keep getting more and more testy and whiny. We can’t seem to reach a middle ground. We might have one moment where we are connecting and cuddling on the couch reading a book then the next moment Trey is having a meltdown because I said he’s only allowed one vitamin a day.

There’s these art drop-in classes I like going to but I can’t even find a family member who is willing to babysit so that I can get out once a week. I am feeling wrung out and frustrated. And the harder I try to do fun stuff for the kids in the house (since it’s freezing cold outside) the more I get disappointed by their lack of interest or cooperation. I know deep down that they are allowed to be interested in whatever they want to but I feel upset when I work so hard to do something special and it makes us all just more frustrated with each other.

For example. I opened up this large brick of clay this morning and thought they would love to get their hands dirty. Joel touched it once and left the table. Trey made himself a Star Wars ship using all of the shaping tools as guns and wings etc. Sure, it’s cool but it can’t stay like that. I will need those tools back and I don’t want to have to break them out of a block of clay. In the end I ended up having to figure out how to use a whole block of clay by myself while Trey kept dumping toys on the finished pieces and Joel kept waking up the baby.

I’ll post the finished projects tomorrow for those out there who care (thank goodness for L).

I can’t wait for warmer weather so we can all get out of the house again. And, in a couple of weeks I should be able to start yoga. That should help. I have been reading How to Talk so Kids Will Listen & Listen so Kids Will Talk. Sure, it’s full of great examples but when we are at the end of our patience it’s so hard to use those strategies. Ironically, that’s when we need them most.

Oh well, hopefully with practice they will begin to become second nature. I don’t like being angry and I am sure they don’t like me being angry either.

We did do some math work using M&Ms this morning too. That was a little more fruitful. I am trying to master their counting skills and start with some simple addition. They seem to enjoy it, especially when they get to count goodies. Anyways…baby calls…

2 Responses to "Bad day!"

Bad days suck. And I’m with you about today – and this “semester” in general. There’s so much I want to do but this work project and homework feel like they’re taking over my life. That and the move and everything with it are making me anxious now too. I feel like I need some time where my brain is quiet but I know that getting out and being social is so much better for me. I think we might be needing something like our weekend at Goldeye again very very soon!

I would be up for that for sure!

Leave a Reply

