Adventures in Unschooling

A better start and one more book review.

Posted on: March 6, 2009

Today I feel much better. The sun is shining through my windows, I had a great night’s sleep and I am looking forward to spending time with my husband tonight (he might even be home early!).

bookLast night I finished reading How to Talk so Kid’s Will Listen & Listen so Kid’s Will Talk.

I was doubtful that I’d glean much from this book but I was very wrong. I am even considering buying it to use as a reference throughout the next eighteen years.

There were little cartoons which I used as reminders of the concepts and multiple written examples of how to use the concepts. This is one book I am glad didn’t skimp on examples. I had a hard time figuring out how to use the methods in different examples. It’s never too early to start but I doubt I’ll get to see progress with these right now. When my sons start to share with us they tend to flit from idea to idea like hummingbirds and don’t make a whole lot of sense. But I do see these strategies being very useful when they get just a wee bit older and learn how to express themselves coherently.

Now I am only waiting for one more book from the library. A book called Seven Times the Sun. While I am waiting for it to become available I will get the pleasure of reading my own books. I tend to buy three or four books at a time and usually only read two of them. So I have quite a backlog of these.

In other news, my three-month-old daughter is just amazing me these days. She is just so chatty. And she has started laughing! She is grabbing everything in sight and is even starting to play with the toys we bought her for Christmas. I am in awe of her progress.

Speaking of flitting from one thing to the other, I was going to post pics of my clay play today but I thought I would just post the final product. I need to paint them and I don’t want to paint them with acrylics. Does anyone know if you can get non-firing glazes?

I certainly wish it was warmer today. I think it would have been an ideal day for a bus ride to the library. Oh well, we’ll have to make the best of our time at home. That’s why I love websites like the Crafty Crow and Little Hands Big Work.

I also found some fun ideas on this site (which is no longer being updated since it has relocated but it still has a great archive).

The Crafty Crow is my favorite because it introduces me to so many other crafty blogs. Plus I still have those books I last bought from Amazon. Lots to do…no time for being glum. 🙂

This picture is of the boys playing with my Perfection game. They put all the pieces in and then turn the timer on. They wait for it to explode patiently and then burst into giggles when it blows up in their face!

I had a chance to use one of my newly learned skills just now. As I was putting the toy away I realized we were missing a piece. Instead of saying, “did you lose a piece?” I said, “we’re missing a piece.” Then Trey immediately said, “yeah we lost a piece.” Then he got down from his chair, found it and gave it to me.

Leave a Reply

