Adventures in Unschooling

Hibernation weekend.

Posted on: March 8, 2009

With all that snow and wind we have been staying inside as much as possible. We did have to take a trip to return items at the library and we let the boys play while we were there, but other than that we have spent most of the weekend playing indoors, reading and watching movies.

dsc04452This afternoon we built a fort in the kitchen/livingroom. Then we grabbed a pile of books (and the boys grabbed their toys) and we all cuddled into the fort for some family reading time.

Since I have been able to start reading my own books again I spent a few hours last night reading The Creative Family.I had only skimmed through it before but I’ve spent more time actually reading it and have found myself re-inspired. This morning I gathered up another small box full of my children’s plastic toys and packed that up to go to cousin Levi’s. Now the only plastic toys that they have left are Mr. Potato head toys, Lego, a xylophone, a few sport items (a plastic bat and ball and a golf set) and the workbench and tools my parents bought them for Christmas.

I also put together a more extensive box of fabric. They had some large pieces they used as capes etc. but now they have all sort of scraps for playing with and touching. I imagine that Anna will enjoy this more as she learns to crawl and walk than my boys are but still. It’ll be there for whomever wants it.

It feels strangely therapeutic to get rid of plastic garbage. And now with our strict no more plastic crap entering our house rule we are well on our way to a healthier and more stimulating home.

My big projects for their playroom right now is trying to find wood crates or wicker baskets for their toys instead of plastic tubs. It has to be durable since they use the tubs as cars and stairs and castles and they must be able to handle that rough play. I am also looking to obtain some embroidery supplies second hand. I think the boys might like that as an activity.

I would also like to get them some more musical instruments. They only have kid versions right now. This won’t be a problem for us as my hubby and I are both very appreciative of music but we need to come up with some extra money for good quality pieces first. And space, as always, is an issue.

It’s nice to have projects and these will likely keep me busy as I try to thrift as much of these as possible.

Leave a Reply

