Adventures in Unschooling

Another day.

Posted on: March 9, 2009

We had lots of fun today. The boys were in a good mood and spent large portions of the day tackling each other and giggling.

The boys painted and we blew bubbles. We read stories and sang Raffi songs. They had a bath while I folded laundry. They built things out of Lego. It was a pretty typical day.

dsc04459

I even had a chance to do a little bit of shopping:

I went to a “school” store and bought the kids some jingle bells, as well as some feathers and pipe cleaners for crafting. There was also another item that isn’t pictured. I bought a large map of Canada. Spell-ominoes looks like fun. I’ll play it with Kev tonight and see how it really works out but I can’t imagine it not being satisfactory. Each card has a part of a word on each side and you create links by adding letters to make words.

I am still waiting on two special books to come in from Amazon. I am very excited about receiving The True Story of the Three Little Pigs and The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales.

I also found out something about my diet today. I had cut wheat out as part of a mild detox. I have had some chronic problems (like lethargy and joint pain and headaches) and thought a detox was in order. For a whole week I didn’t eat any of these common offenders. And I was feeling quite well. Last night I cheated and ate some bread. Within 30 minutes I had a monstrous headache. Then at lunch today I wanted to see if it would happen again. Yup! Another monstrous headache after eating wheat.

So now gluten is on my “no-eating” list. We’ll see if that gets rid of a bunch of my problems over the next few months.

Leave a Reply

