Adventures in Unschooling

Crafty ideas from blogs.

Posted on: March 10, 2009

We usually have some art time everyday but I am getting bored of painting so I scoured some crafty blogs and came up with some new ideas.

We picked the dough picture frames for today. First you have to make the dough (I wanted a very small batch so I halved this recipe):

2 cups Flour

1/2 cup salt

3/4 hot water

Then you mix it until it doesn’t stick anymore (adding more water or flour if needed). They you roll it out. Do what you are going to do with it and then cook it in your oven for about 10 minutes (whenever the dough starts to turn a little golden) at 350*. I have also read that you can microwave it for a couple of minutes but I don’t have a clue how that’d turn out.

When its cool you can start painting. I was going to add glue and glitter and beads to them but the boys seemed to have had enough after the painting so we left the frames and hearts as you see here:

dsc04460Joel’s is that blue and purple one. I put a picture of his birth in it.

 He was my first water birth baby.

Anyways, after they were all dried we hung them on our Thanksgiving tree. It is getting pretty full but as it dries out it has a dirt-like smell and it becoming quite brittle. It’s not that I didn’t expect this but I didn’t expect my cat to be breaking a branch or two off of it almost everyday.  

But, I can’t wait for tomorrow’s craft! I am planning on making a colour wheel. Then the boys and I will glue all sorts of buttons and small items that match the colours on the colour wheel. Maybe I can start collecting items right now.

Leave a Reply

