Adventures in Unschooling

Bird watching.

Posted on: March 20, 2009

This morning I let the dogs in from outside and was surprised to see a whole fleet of Bohemian Waxwings. Those little rascals picked my Mountain Ash dry of berries. I had read that the berries were pretty bitter so if they hadn’t come along I imagine they would have remained uneaten.

dsc04565dsc04563

I also saw a little Black-capped Chickadee and a Blue Jay although the Blue Jay was gone before I had a chance to take the picture. No worries though…there are more of those where he came from. The Waxwings though were ones I had never seen in my yard before.

dsc04566

1 Response to "Bird watching."

Wow, that’s so cool you could get such clear close up shots for your own bird book! From the house we get really nice views of yellow warbler’s and there’s been the odd duck but other than that they mostly hide in the trees. I really wish I’d written down the birds we identified last year. And I’ve never seen waxwings so clearly ever. I’ll definitely be on the look out now!

Leave a Reply

