Adventures in Unschooling

Busy me.

Posted on: March 23, 2009

Here is some of what we have been up to this morning.

dsc045771I made some bells to jingle as we say “good morning” to each other. I also made some shakers out of those little plastic eggs and some lentils for us to make music with when we sing Raffi songs.

I also took all of their instruments (a drum, two drum pads, a tambourine, jingle bells, some wood blocks, their egg shakers, a xylophone and some maracas) and put them all into a music box. I think the fact that they are “put away” when we aren’t using them will make it more exciting for the kids to use when we have our music play.

I was going to read to them right now but they aren’t in a reading kind of mood so I am going to start working on my second strand of flags. The first one was 2.75 m long. That means I will have roughly 5.5m worth of flags when I am done. Not bad!

We have also worked on our alphabet this morning. The kids love this dsc04581one. They like learning the phonics and naming the letters and then they love carrying them to their bedroom where I put the letters up.

It is helping with letter recognition which was the whole point of this activity so YAY!

Plus Trey is saying is alphabet more completely now. He doesn’t miss the E anymore (out of A to K).

And yesterday I was looking for a recipe for beeswax modeling clay and I found one on a Waldorf blog. It is made from 1 cup beeswax, 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tsp lanolin cream. Then I added a little bit of colour from my beeswax crayons (the ones that L gave the boys).

Here is my modeling clay:dsc04580

1 Response to "Busy me."

I know they aren’t quite what you were going for but those colours are amazing! I can’t wait to try some.

Leave a Reply

