Adventures in Unschooling

The Playroom.

Posted on: March 24, 2009

The Playroom is also the living room. I really liked it when Granola Girl posted pictures of their newly renovated play room on her blog and I felt inspired to share my play area with viewers too. Mine is not anywhere near as nice as hers but we managed to make everything fit in our small living room.dsc045981

dsc04602

 

The table is one of my favorite parts of this room. It is so sturdy and has really stood up to an awful lot of abuse. In the buckets we have musical instruments, wood blocks, Mr. Potato head stuff, cloths for playing and touching, one of those wire things with the wood balls, a couple little wood wagons and two or three books.

dsc04604dsc04605The kids have lots of play clothes  and sports gear. Here is another large bucket of wood blocks. This one also contains the trucks and wood toys they received for Christmas. They have two of those IKEA wooden train sets. I just love those. They are so great. 

dsc04609dsc04610The picture of the cat in the Mr. Potato Head bucket is actually quite funny. For some reason the cat loves the Potato head pieces and I thought that by moving the bucket up to a higher shelf I could keep him from stealing and losing the pieces. As you can see this didn’t deter him.

I would love to replace those awful plastic buckets but I can’t think of anything sturdy enought o handle play that wouldn’t cost $30+ per bucket.

Tags:

1 Response to "The Playroom."

Great play room. We love the Ikea train set too! Storage can be expensive. I budgeted around $200 for our playroom. Ikea seems to be the cheapest option for us to get more for our dollar. Thrift stores are great too. I wanted to stay away from the plastic bins too but the Ikea storage was just so affordable and the containers were on a wooden shelf, so I caved.

I like your storage ideas for the living room. Ours was chaos before we moved everything downstairs. Thanks for sharing. I have been enjoying reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

