Adventures in Unschooling

Some news…

Posted on: March 27, 2009

I have some fairly unhappy news. I am down two pets in one day.

jan-03I was looking for a new home for my kitten for a while and he finally found a new home. Now I miss him terribly. We weren’t supposed to keep him and frankly my home (especially the kids’ felted toys and my furniture) will be better off without a cat but still.

dsc03461We had rescued him from a farm because his mother had abandoned him when he was just a week or so old. I fed him from bottles and even had to teach him to “go.” But we never intended to keep him, just save him.

Now that we finally found a home for him (four and a half months later) I am feeling very guilty and missing him an awful lot. Goodbye Smitty. We’ll miss you.

dsc00593And before the cat left for his new home my hamster died. I wasn’t that attached to the hamster but it was still hard saying goodbye to a pet.

This is him napping when we had first gotten him.

On a happier note: I snatched this picture of my little angel in bed last night. I love co-sleeping. I was folding laundry on the bed and she fell asleep. Then I made the bed over her and took this picture. I just love how precious she in is in that gigantic bed.

dsc046411

Yesterday I also reorganized my sewing room. It is so much easier to work in there when everything is in its place.

dsc04630dsc04634dsc04633

Scrapbooking and sewing and art supplies all mixed in together!

It’s not a large space but I still love it. I am getting used to my new machine and I really like it too.

dsc04631I even have a lavender plant in there that smells up the whole room when rustled. I like to run my hands through it to release all that lovely scent into the room.

dsc04632I wish I had more plants in my house but I have so little space and so many little fingers around.

Plus I tend to kill them all. I don’t know why I can’t keep a plant alive.

I do have a little more space in my living room now that Hammy is gone but I have already replaced that emptiness with some family pictures.

The kids just love looking at the pics. It’s like a mini altar for our family. A place to think about each other.

And to wrap up this long post, I have a picture of a belt I made for Trey last night.

dsc04636I have also made one for myself but I’ll just show you the little one.

Now that I have a machine that works consistently I am doing a lot more sewing.

My husband too is doing a lot more sewing. His pouch is turning out splendidly but he isn’t quite done with it yet. So we’ll have to wait for pics.

And I think I am finally dealing with the guilt I had for getting such a nice machine. After spending more time learning about all the bells and whistles I am much more relaxed. It even comes with a knee lever for the presser food. Kevin is really thrilled with that.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

