Adventures in Unschooling

Thrifty finds.

Posted on: March 27, 2009

dsc04649I was very inspired by the vintage finds of some of these crafty online mamas out there that I decided to do a little thrifting of my own.

I picked this thermos looking thing up today. It has a Tiffin in it! Granted it’s not a real Tiffin but it’s as good as and the thermos dealy helps keep everything at the right temperature. The lid doesn’t seal and I can’t figure out if it was ever supposed to but it’ll be perfect for events like pic nics. 

Each container has a seperate lid so the lid could conceivably double as a mini plate too.

dsc04650<-I also found these items.

A colourful scarf, some items to get the boys and I started on embroidery and some knitting needles (my sister can show me the basics) and some yarn.

I would have never seen myself learning how to knit but lately I have been seeing the cutest things being knitted and then felted and it is really the felting that convinced me to try.

Other projects I will enjoy doing will be hats.

dsc04651We also took a trip to the library today. Here are some books I borrowed.

A quilting for baby book, a knitting project book and Grimm’s Fairy Tales (I am pretty curious to see what those are like). The Wishing on a Star one is one I bought at Save On Foods when I was there picking up dish soap and it is about finding constellations and explaining the story behind them. I think it’ll be great for camping trips.

And last, but definitely not least, Fabricland is having a 50% off sale so we went and stocked up on piles of goods. These are prints and patterns for Anna. I am hoping to be able to sew all of her clothes. At least it’s my goal. I also bought four metres of denim so that I can make overalls etc. for my boys. We’ll be busy bees for a while.

dsc04653

Tags: ,

3 Responses to "Thrifty finds."

Wow, those are some great finds! I love successful thrift shopping trips but I don’t make nearly enough trips to brag about successful ones!

I’m so looking forward to seeing you knitting and felting. If you learn how to crochet maybe you can teach me? I still haven’t asked my BC sister to teach me yet but I hear it’s much faster for making toques than knitting. A little harder on the wrist too though.

Yes. I think I do want to crochet tuques. I want one of those loose knit ones with the big knitted flowers on the side. I don’t think I know anyone who knows how though. I’ll have to ask around.
I can’t wait to felt some bowls and purses and even baby shoes.
I think I will wait until I know how to knit a bowl before I go to the wool store though. But when I get there we will have to have a dyeing extravaganza!

Yes I agree. Great Finds!!! I want to learn how to sew as well. I think I may hold off until the winter though and make it my goal then. I still want to improve my sewing first. Look forward to your book reviews!!

Leave a Reply

