Adventures in Unschooling

Full weekend.

Posted on: March 30, 2009

We have had such a full and busy weekend and I am now officially bushed.

We have my brother-in-law staying with us for a month (for schooling) and so we have had to make some changes to our bedroom set-ups to accommodate him. We have moved our bed in with the boys and Anna is not adjusting well to the change. She has been keeping me up and I am just exhausted now.

Here are some pics from the weekend:

dsc04662Kevin is teaching the boys about colours. My nephew is the smallest one.

Below Trey is making “food” for his new company.

dsc04661This weekend I also picked up some inexpensive frames from IKEA to start an art display area for my kids’ art.

dsc046661Sandra, my sister, also taught me how to knit this weekend. I want to learn how to make those felted bowls. It is not my forte but I am pretty sure I can manage it good enough to finish the few projects I wanted to do.

And speaking of knitting she had knitted some squares for me to make some bunnies I had seen in a Waldorf book. dsc04676Then I stitched them to make them look like rabbits. Here is how they turned out.

There were three squares but the first two bunnies took so long to stitch up and stuff and everything that I decided to forgo the third little bunny and let Trey have the square as a wash cloth.

And of course I promised to show you all what Kevin was sewing the other day. Here it is:

dsc04655

dsc04656

The elastics hold the mags in place instead of the noisy velcro flaps.

Now he wants to sew himself a new vest. His last one turned out very well and he wants one in this colour too.

What a handsome little sewer I’ve got. Pretty soon I will have the whole family sewing up a storm.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to "Full weekend."

Wow, no wonder storytelling didn’t happen. You didn’t just entertain, you crafted as well! I love the bright orange of the bunnies and of course you can’t have too many cloths to play with.

Did your sister get you going on circulars (toques, hats, etc.)? A few dish cloths are a good way to start but when you’re ready to make things complicated let me know and we can get you started on bowls.

I took that toque I started working on at your autumn get together, to the library with me yesterday and I just need to take out the top two extra rows and it’ll be done. Perfect timing for this springy weather!

This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

