Adventures in Unschooling

A nature walk…brrr!

Posted on: March 31, 2009

I had promised the kids a nature walk since the temperature was acceptable but the sun never showed and the wind was cold.

They were really excited so we bundled up and headed outdoors for some rock collecting. I was thrilled to see some signs of spring. This winter has seemed to be never-ending and I know there are others who feel this way too.

dsc04691

dsc04694I really like this picture. The boys look like they are skipping in unison but in reality they are just running and I caught them at just the right moment.

dsc04693 As you can see we have plenty of snow left. Winter is my least favorite of all the seasons by a long shot. I hate being cold.

dsc04695

And, like I mentioned in my last post (probably the one that got deleted) we finally have space to set up a small nature table since Hammy passed on.

Here are some pics of the nature table.

dsc04700dsc04702You can see that there isn’t much on it right now as we just put it up. I am hoping for a really good nature walk where we can collect more pine cones. I am also looking forward to learning how to make some felted bowls for these little treasures.

That clay bowl is the one I made back a long time ago. I hadn’t posted pics before because I hadn’t glazed it yet but oh well…maybe another day.

1 Response to "A nature walk…brrr!"

I’m so glad you were able to get out for a walk. It wasn’t as warm and bright as the last few days but man is it nice to not have to worry about ice quite so much. Your nature table/family wall is looking great and I think it’s especially fitting that you have your bowl there.

Leave a Reply

