Adventures in Unschooling

Felting fun.

Posted on: April 8, 2009

My sister taught me how to knit so that I could make those lovely felted bowls I keep seeing everywhere. I also saw patterns for felted purses etc. that looked really cool.

Anyways, so today I started looking at some online knitting sites and found one that had a video on circular knitting (using the four needles) and I self-taught myself to do the knits.

Here is my finished bowl before felting:

dsc04837

And here is my felted bowl:

dsc04840

Now I realize that the bowl is small, I just wanted to try a sample first, and I also realize that the bowl is not fully felted. I hand felted it and got lazy and left it semi-felted.

The next one I will let my washing machine do. Ha ha ha.

2 Responses to "Felting fun."

Wow, you just learned to knit a week and a half ago and you’re already knitting in the round. I didn’t even know you had dpn’s. Wow! And yeah, it’s an experiment every time to see how your knitting will reshape itself when felted. It’s nowhere near an exact science!

Beautiful colors!

Leave a Reply

