Adventures in Unschooling

I love my library!

Posted on: May 16, 2009

And I am not the only one.

My hubby and my kids also love their local library. The kids love playing in the library. It’s more of a social function to them than it is about the books but still…

Here are some real gems that I picked up today:

DSC05218

Gosh! I just love that I can go and pick books up for free and have a chance to really read them so that I can determine whether or not to spend the money to buy them. There have been so many books that have looked good on the web or in the book store but end up being pretty lame at home.

I am definitely buying the Sew Pretty Homestyle one. I just loved the ideas in there. It made me want to sew up my whole dang house!

I am not planning on buying the serger one but it has been a real life preserver. I was having so much trouble with my serger and a few little tips from this book and my serger is working better than it ever has. Plus the illustrations in this book are much clearer than the illustrations and instructions in my manual.

Yay for the library!

Here is my completed sewing project for the evening:

DSC05217It looks rather boring. I am thinking it needs some embroidered accent or something but since I plan on wearing it to the office I am a little hesitant to get too creative. Hmmm…any ideas?

Obviously it needs some ironing too. Ha ha ha.

Another thing I am loving about my library is that it lets you borrow CDs. I like being able to listen to new artists this way. I would never buy a CD from an artist I didn’t recognize and this is a fun way to try some new styles.

Plus, I really like the documentaries too. All of this for the price of three or four movie rentals.

Leave a Reply

