Adventures in Unschooling

Sorry.

Posted on: September 7, 2009

I am sorry to all of my readers (how ever many few there may be) about my absence on the online world.

We have been very busy for just about every weekend for the last two months. This has been my first weekend at home and “off” so I am taking some time to update you. Be ready for a few posts since a lot has been going on.

In this post I want to show some of the sewing I have managed to accomplish in the last few days off as well as show you some of my felted treasures.

DSC06478DSC06480

Here we have a princess or a dame or whatever, a Jedi knight and a pot-bellied pirate!

And I also made two carrots for their wood food set.

DSC06481

These are pictures of some of the sewing I did for my daughter this weekend.

DSC06512DSC06513c

The pink one will take her another year and a half to grow into. I guess that’ll be one less outfit to buy then.

DSC06514

I also managed to sew myself two different shirts and a pair of comfy pants but I didn’t get pictures of me wearing them. ūüė¶

I’ll post some when I get them.

We also sorted through all of the children’s toys and now that everything is sorted through they are playing with all the toys that were buried at the bottom of their toy box. Toy-box cleaning is good for their imagination!

I was also thrilled to find that we still had all of the pieces to their wood sets from Christmas.

And I have been trying to read as much as I can lately because I am still not making any ground with my four year old on the potty training front. So many books are quick to say don’t use rewards, don’t punish but they don’t equip you well to know what to do instead.

After over a year of having accidents in waves I have tried it all and I am still not getting anywhere. So yeah,¬†I am reverting back to yelling and punishing¬†out of exasperation. It’s not at all what I set out to do but it just comes flowing out when I have to¬†clean poop from all the way down his leg (because he pooped in his pants) AGAIN!!!

And everyone’s advice on this has been terribly short sighted and unhelpful. I am starting to feel like I am the only one who is dealing with this but I know that this can’t be so. SO, if he MUST grow out of it I sure hope it’s soon.

Anyways, so right now I am trying to read through this book called kids are worth it  by Barbara Coloroso. It makes pretty good sense but the application of it may be a lot harder than it looks.

Do I ever wish I would have started reading these books when my babes were babes instead of scrambling to find answers when the shit was hitting the fan. I could have saved myself a lot of trouble I am sure.

6 Responses to "Sorry."

Love that little green top/dress. That was my next attempt at a pillowcase dress type thing, the gather in the front. How did you do it?

I love those felted people, how cute!

Wow, that’s some great crafting you’ve been doing! I’m jealous but have been enjoying myself with some less productive tasks. On the potty front, I know ec isn’t your thing but I wonder if there’s some advice in there that might make things easier? Thanks for posting photos!

What specifically?
I have read Diaper Free and I don’t remember any nuggets of wisdom that may help my four year old.

Chimpsgomoo,

The dress was really simple. It was just a rectangle of that turqouise-y material cut about two times too big and then sewn at the top with rows of eleastic thread.

I saw some tutorials online that looked like the material should just pucker on its own and I couldn’t get it to work so I ended up just gathering it by pulling on the strings. The elastic is indispensible for the comfort of the dress though.

I could ask Annie. She started ec’ing Lily at 1 and a half or so. But I know things like watching for times when you most expect them to pee or poop is part of it. Let me scour some sites when I get settled and I’ll see if there’s anything that *might* help.

Hmmm.

Don’t worry about it L.

I can always look it up myself. We have actually come to a different conclusion that is more in line with our learning/parenting philosophy. I still haven’t had a chance to write about that. I’ll try tonight.

Leave a Reply

