Adventures in Unschooling

Little seasonal things.

Posted on: October 23, 2009

I can’t help it. I am a fall junkie. I love all of the fall colours and flavours. It is sad to know that summer is over and that soon it’ll be frigid and gross but even that reality can’t get me down about fall.

We aren’t really Hallowe’en people. As in we don’t hand out candy and we don’t go door to door for it either. But with all of these beautiful, wonderful smelling pumpkins for $3 a piece I couldn’t stop myself from buying one to carve with the boys.

DSC06677Of course I did all the carving and scooping. I asked for help there but neither of them wanted to touch the flesh and seeds. So their contribution resulted in choosing the design of the pumpkin (a happy one not a scary one) and then complaining that they couldn’t see every little thing I was doing to it. LOL.

Now my hands smell like pumpkin and I couldn’t enjoy that more. I mean, I am still miserable. The whole family has been struggling with this awful cold. Fevers, sore throats, coughing, throwing up etc. I have been the last one to succumb to it but no one is quite over it yet. It breaks my heart to hear my children coughing the way they have been.

A couple of weeks back we have a birthday party for Joel. I usually take the time to decorate but these days with work, extra curricular activities and worrying about Kevin’s “application” I just didn’t have it in me. This is what we arranged instead:

DSC06578cJoel loves Spiderman. We let Joel dress up in his Spiderman costume and we put blue and red balloons and streamers up all over the kitchen. We did the best we could with the time we had.

There is a chance I could be back home in the New Year. I was really hoping that I would be back before Christmas but my husband may have a great temporary opportunity in the New Year. So if that works I will stay until the end of December and then be home for as long as I am happy there.

And it’ll be good for the kids too. My husband isn’t a very good unschooler, cleaner, baker, cook etc. It’ll be very nice to have the house back in order.

And to wrap up this post…

… a picture of my lovely Anna sleeping on the couch.

DSC06657c

1 Response to "Little seasonal things."

The rain stayed away yesterday and it’s a few degrees warmer – just the way I like autumn. I even thought about making some pumpkin muffins but haven’t gotten that far yet.

I hope everyone enjoyed Joel’s birthday celebration and I think the cupcakes you came up with are pretty fine. Sure, they’re not like the fancy cakes you sometimes do but I can’t see anyone complaining.

Happy autumn and I hope you have a great week leading up to halloween.

Leave a Reply

