Adventures in Unschooling

My favorite part about Halloween.

Posted on: November 2, 2009

It is not what you think.

I actually hate Halloween. Kids get all dressed up in gruesome costumes and demand candy from strangers. And inversely I am supposed to spend money on cavity and hyper activity inducing candy to give to strange kids. The whole holiday bugs me. But here is the fun part:

The day after Halloween!

When all of the candy (hangs head in shame but I have to make the hubby happy) and decorations, and costumes are 50% off. I didn’t buy my kids costumes for Halloween (really they have a whole dress up box anyways) but the day after I bought them each a funky pirate cap and a Ninja Turtle costume. They love pretending to be Ninja turtles ever since we borrowed the movie from the library.

I also bought myself these wood block things that say Give Thanks, a fall wreath and some cheesecloth for sewing, cooking, crafting etc. And then I got my husband Darth Vader’s lightsaber. Now when there is a lightsaber duel in the house all the boys can participate. Ha ha ha.

I love getting the kids dress up clothes. They just love dressing up and assuming the character.

This weekend my son opened his birthday present from his Grandma (my mom). I was so happy with the gifts. She got him this funky old school wood bowling set. But instead of being regular pins the pins are wood numbers balancing on a wobbly round wood base. The bowling ball is solid wood too. My mom found this treasure second hand. It originally had vintage stickers with the numbers illustrated but the stickers were all peeling off. So we took the rest of them off and I painted new numbers on instead.

DSC06723

DSC06721

She also got Joel some age appropriate board games. We are just thrilled with these positive additions to our family play room.

Leave a Reply

