Adventures in Unschooling

Some sun in our dreary winter.

Posted on: January 11, 2010

In celebration of the beautiful weather today I decided to crawl out of my house. I drove my husband back to work after his lunch break and then did groceries with the kids.

The kids were asking for all kinds of fruit today and I couldn’t say no to nutrition so we came home with six different kinds of fruit and we still had some at home.  (Well, even more since avocados and tomatoes are technically fruits)

Fruit never goes bad at my house though so I am not worried.

But we picked up two new fruits (some blood oranges and a starfruit) and some good oldies; bananas, frozen strawberries, mandarins (really good ones) and pears.

No one really cared for the starfruit save for Anna. It is a pretty addition to any salad though. I think that must be real reason for it’s popularity.

The other thing my grocery store had that I couldn’t resist was some lovely daffodil bulbs. Trey helped me transplant them into a slightly large pot and we will likely plant them on the farm when the spring really comes.

What a cheery flower. Just a pure ray of sunshine. I love little things like that.

Winter is still here for a while but I can’t help myself. Any little flower or whatever is extra cheery for me right now. Can’t wait for spring!

And the boys really miss the playground and walks.

And on the way home I heard Colbie Caillat’s song “Lucky” and I loved it. I had been on the fence about getting her newest album but I am off now. I am going to tell my husband I want it…today! Ha ha ha.

1 Response to "Some sun in our dreary winter."

yum, yum, yum! I’m glad you had a chance to get out today and bring more fresh fruit home. You inspired me to make a pineapple upside down cake but it will have to wait for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

