Adventures in Unschooling

The last few days.

Posted on: January 15, 2010

I’ve been a little busier these days so I haven’t posted in a a couple of days.

The first thing I want to talk about is the Olympics. Unlike L, I don’t care for it much. I am just not into it I guess. But I never thought the day would come where the Olympics would be an inconvenience for me. Ha ha ha.

OK, it’s not a big deal. But the husband’s polygraph, which could have been done this month, has been postponed until the Olympics are done because all of the RCMP polygraphers are in Vancouver working the Olympics. Ha ha ha.

That puts his recruitment back a bit. I hope they make up the time somehow because that will put him at about three months worth of delays, all out of his control. And we are just dying for him to get in and then out onto the field. We have been putting our life on hold for over a year trying to get everything aligned to do this and it starts to wear you down. I would love to be settled in to our new house before next Christmas. Oh well, we’ll figure it all out.

The other disappointment is that his current contract MAY not last as long was we were hoping. That, coupled with the delay with his application, is making me worried that if he can’t find another job quickly enough afterwards, I may end up back at work until we sell our home or until he goes to Regina.

We have to list our place for sale in February and hope for a really quick sale. Then we can move out to my husband’s parent’s farm and stay there until he graduates and gets posted.

Anyway, two days ago I went to a friend’s house and we let our kids have a play date. It was a nice break from the norm and the kids sure had a great time. I was really grateful.

And yesterday I took the kids to the park in the neighbourhood here. They had fun but Joel fell in the snow, and got cold, and cried, so that ended pretty quickly. It was still nice to get some fresh air though.

And Anna, my little 14 month old who won’t-walk-but-can-climb-anything-in-sight climbed up on my kitchen table and did a number on my bowl of nuts. She really enjoyed plunging her hands in the dish. And when she emptied the dish out she would stick her face in it and listen to the echo as she “ahhhh”ed into it.

She is absolutely adorable.

Last night I went to the mall. The husband had martial arts and I wanted some time out.

Anyway, when we were at Chapters we picked up some clearance books.

They boys each wanted the same 3D Human Body book. Here are the boys looking through it this morning.

4 Responses to "The last few days."

Ha ha ha! My thoughts on the Olympics ARE mixed but I’m certainly not in the situation you are either. It was tough to apply for the relay but I knew I’d regret it if I didn’t and everything happens for a reason. This extra wait for you too.

We’re both good at getting our hopes up for everything to work the way we want it to but I’m noticing that things happen the way they’re meant to anyway. I really hope you can find peace with the way this upcoming change meets you and I’m going to try to do better on that same topic for myself too:)

These are some cool action shots you shared with us as well but I’m wondering where I find photos or more details from your play date. Have a good weekend.

I don’t take pics of their play dates. That would just be weird. LOL.

That makes sense. I just figured there might have been something new or extra cute.

There actually wouldn’t have been anything particularily picture-worthy but it was fun for all.

Today we are going swimming again. I wish I had a waterproof cam.

There are some gooders in every trip.

I still laugh every time I think of Trey and his little pool girlfriend.

How fickle is the love of men! LOL.

Leave a Reply

