Adventures in Unschooling

Fingerprints, shadow puppets and witch’s brew.

Posted on: January 22, 2010

All in a Friday. Ha ha ha.

I stayed up late last night doing dishes and laundry. With just a couple things to do today I was free to think up of all sorts of activities to do with my boys.

Trey and I looked through one of his science books (a gift from a friend) and found many, many ideas for today. And we even started a couple for tomorrow.

This book is very good. Thanks M!

Back to the topic though.

Here are the boys’ experiments for the day.

Fingerprints. Now we’ll have them on file if they ever get in trouble.

Just kidding.

But Trey thinks that because he got his fingerprints done he can be a police officer.

While that isn’t exactly untrue it’s not a guarantee. Especially when mom is the fingerprinter.

My house was filled with roawrrrs and giggles this morning as a result of this activity.

Always a good one for boys I think.

And the last activity was our witch’s brew.

This recipe called for adding dish soap to the vinegar. I had never heard of that before but it makes a wonderfully foamy…foam?

I added food colouring as instructed and even added some sprinkles. You couldn’t really see them in the foam and you can’t see them in the picture but they are there and they are magical for what it counts. 🙂

I am excited to see what else the day will hold. I was hoping to get out but we have a weather warning of freezing drizzle. I think I will skip the roads and stay home in my PJs instead.

Leave a Reply

