Adventures in Unschooling

Food fun…sort of.

Posted on: February 28, 2010

We try to experiment with new foods as often as we can. I was at the grocery store last night and they had some dragon fruit in stock. I had never had any before so I saw an opportunity.

Here is what it looks like:

It looked and was unappetizing. You live, you learn right?

And then I happened upon this little treat:

They are maple syrup (candy badness) filled mini ice cream cones.

I have been avoiding buying junk food altogether in the hopes of getting my kids to develop a taste for wholesome foods. When there are chips etc. in the house they don’t want carrot sticks. So I avoid the junk and they eat the veggies.

But I couldn’t resist this one because these were the exact treat that my grandmother used to give to me when I was just une petite fille in Quebec.

It gave me a chance to tell the boys a bit about what it was like growing up in Quebec and getting maple goodies and maple syrup (without paying a fortune). I am also hoping to take them to a Cabane de sucre thing in March. That would be a great thing for them to experience.

Leave a Reply

